SPECIAL MEETING OF THE WOU BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING NO. 52 – AUGUST 24, 2022 4:00 PM

MINUTES

I. CALL-TO-MEETING / ROLL CALL

Chair Betty Komp called the special meeting to order at 4:03 PM and asked Secretary Hagemann to take the roll. The following trustees were present:

Jerry Ambris Gayle Evans

Angela Fasana

David Foster

Betty Komp Cec Koontz

Leah Mitchell

Kari Nelsestuen

Jesse Peters

The following trustees were absent:

Zellee Allen
Danielle Campbell
Susan Castillo
Linda Herrera
Doug Morse
Michael Reis

II. CHAIR'S WELCOME

Chair Komp welcomed the trustees to the special Board meeting and asked President Peters and the new trustees to introduce themselves.

III. ACTION ITEMS

1. Delegation of Contract Authority

Chair Komp recognized Trustee Koontz, and key personnel, to introduce the docket item. Koontz introduced Vice President for Finance and Administration Dr. Ana Karaman and she introduced Director of Capital Planning Jason Krawczyk and Construction and Assistant Vice

President for Safety and Operations Rebecca Chiles. Karaman offered a brief explanation of the Student Success Center capital project and the roof projects under the capital improvement and repair program. Komp asked Krawczyk for additional comments about the Student Success Center project and Chiles about the roof projects. Trustee Foster asked about the timeline for the projects and whether or not Parking Lot F would be closed during the construction. Karaman observed supply chain issues might impact the timeline of the roof projects and the vendor, Garland, would start ordering materials now. After presentation and discussion, Komp called for a motion to approve the delegation of authority as described in the written docket materials. Koontz moved approval and Ambris seconded the motion. Before the motion, Trustee Evans asked about the Board Statement on the Delegation of Authority and the approval of the capital construction project budget. Staff explained that when the university brought the proposed projects to the Board before submitting them to HECC and the Oregon Legislature, the project budgets were approved at that time. The proposed action today was to delegate contract authority to the president for both the Student Success Center and roofing projects as described in the written docket materials.

Chair Komp asked Hagemann to take roll call for the vote. The following trustees voted in favor of the motion:

Jerry Ambris
Gayle Evans
Angela Fasana
David Foster
Betty Komp
Cec Koontz
Leah Mitchell
Kari Nelsestuen

President Peters is non-voting.

No trustees opposed the motion.

No trustees abstained from the motion.

The motion passed.

IV. FINAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

After the motion, Chair Komp asked Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Rob Winningham to introduce himself.

V. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Komp adjourned the special meeting with a quorum at 4:23 PM



RYAN JAMES HAGEMANN Secretary to the Board of Trustees