

#### SPECIAL MEETING OF THE WOU BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING NO. 63 – AUGUST 9, 2024 1:00PM-2:00PM

### Meeting Minutes

# I. CALL-TO-MEETING / ROLL CALL

Vice Chair Nelsestuen calls the Special Meeting of the Western Oregon University Board of Trustees to order at 1:04pm on August 9<sup>th</sup> 2024 and asked Secretary Sorce to call the roll.

The following Trustees are present: Trustee Jerry Ambris, Trustee Evans, Trustee Paige Jackson, Vice Chair Nelsestuen, Trustee Showalter

The following Trustees were excused: Trustee Angela Fasana, Trustee Leah Mitchell,

The following staff are present: Secretary Evan Sorce, and Provost Jose Coll.

### II. CHAIR'S WELCOME

Chair Komp's power is out. Therefore, Vice Chair Nelsestuen will be Chairing the meeting. Vice Chair Nelsestuen notified the meeting that because this is a special meeting, there will be no public comment period, and the meeting is not being live-streamed. Vice Chair Nelsestuen also took a moment to welcome Trustee Dana Schowalter to the Board of Trustees. Trustee Schowalter is the faculty representative on the board, a professor of communication studies, and the division chair.

### III. ACTION ITEM

### 1) Minor: Neuroscience

Vice Chair Nelsestuen introduced Dr. Jose Coll, Western Oregon Universities



Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, to Present the Minor in Neuroscience. The information about the proposed minor can be found on page two of the docket. Trustee Evans asked Dr. Coll if there were any material modifications to the proposal we just saw. Dr. Coll said the materials in the docket were accurate. Chair Evans moved, and Trustee Ambris seconded to ratify the Board's previous approval at the June 2024 Board of Trustees meeting of the introduction of a new Neuroscience Minor as included in the docket. There was no additional discussion. The motion was approved unanimously.

# 2) Election of Board Chair

Western Oregon

INIVERSIT

Article 3 Section 5 of the Board's Bylaws governs the election of Board officers. The Western Oregon University Board of Trustees has a Board Chair and a Board Vice Chair. They are elected in alternate years for two-year terms. There are no automatic secession or term limits for board officers. At the June 12th Board meeting, no decision was made about a successor to the current Board Chair, Betty Komp. Since that meeting, Trustee Angela Fasana has expressed interest in serving as Board Chair. Trustee Evans mentioned that Trustee Fasana has served on the Finance and Administration Committee and has always been engaged and actively participating in the meeting. She is thrilled that Trustee Fasana would be interested in serving in the Chair capacity. **Chair Komp joined the meeting** 

Trustee Ambris moved, and Trustee Jackson seconded that the Board of Trustees move forward with the nomination of Trustee Angela Fasana to serve as its Chair for a two-year term, effective August 10, 2024, through June 30, 2026. There was no additional discussion, and the motion was passed unanimously.

### IV. FINAL ANNOUCEMENTS



Secretary Sorce thanked Chair Komp for her years as service as the Board Chair.

### V. ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chair Nelsestuen adjourned the meeting at 1:20pm.